Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 16th, 2010

This Week’s Box

The box picked up Thursday 7/15/10 contains:

Tomatoes- two early varieties (Red Siberian and Buckbee’s New)

Potaotes- Red Thumb and Austrian Crescent Fingerlings

Cucumbers-Poona Kheera is yellowish turning brown and is for fresh eating

– Northern Pickling Cukes are green turning yellowish can be used fresh or pickled (better peeled if used                            fresh

Blackberries

Summer Squash- one larger zuke, patty pan or yellow squash and 2-3 young mixed squash

Garlic

Herbs- Spearmint

– Lemon Balm

Split items- Eggs, cheese and green beans were split up.  Whatever you did not get this week you will get soon!

I would like to hear feedback on what you are receiving.  More specifically I would like to hear about how or if you are using the whey.  You will be receiving lots more cucumbers, garlic, okra and other veggies perfect for pickling.  Just like the recipe I shared with you from “Nourishing Traditions” for pickled beets there are very similar recipes for pickling okra, garlic, cabbage, cukes and lots more using whey.  Whenever I make cheese I have plenty of whey to share.  Let me know if you are interested.

Containers:  I would love to see any and all containers returned.  I will refill the whey jars and popcorn jars when I see them again.  What did anyone think about the popcorn?

The following links are to recipes for using the lemon balm and cukes in your box.

http://www.preferredconsumer.com/food_drink/articles/lemon_balm_recipes.html

http://allrecipes.com//Recipe/homemade-refrigerator-pickles/Detail.aspx

Read Full Post »